

KENTUCKY BOARD OF MEDICAL IMAGING AND RADIATION THERAPY UPDATE

DECEMBER 2023

WELCOME NEW BOARD MEMBERS

On February 2, 2023, Governor Andy Beshear made appointments to the Board. Each board member serves a four-year term that expires October 31, 2026.

Jeffrey Fannin, R.T.(R)(CT), of Morehead, was appointed to represent licensed radiographers with a post-primary certification.

Lucas W. Rodriguez, LXMO, of Shelbyville, was appointed to represent licensed limited x-ray machine operators.

Doyle Decker, RT(R)(CT), of Somerset, was reappointed to represent licensed radiographers.

New board members were sworn in at the February 8, 2023 meeting and officer elections were held. Doyle Decker was elected to serve as Board Chair and Sharon Whitaker was elected to serve as Vice Chair.

SPECIAL THANKS

The Board recognizes the following board members, whose appointments ended October 31, 2022, for their dedication and service to the Commonwealth of Kentucky through the Board of Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy:

William Lay, RT(R)(CT), appointed in November 2018 represented licensed radiographers with post-primary certifications.

Jacob Hack, LXMO, appointed in August 2015 represented licensed limited x-ray machine operators.

2023 SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENTS

The Kentucky Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy Scholarship and Continuing Education Fund was established in accordance with KRS 311B.050 for individuals seeking entry level or advanced education in the medical imaging and radiation therapy professions and for individuals seeking non-degree education, such as structured education or limited x-ray machine operator programs. The 2023 scholarship recipients are Felicia Alexander, Kevin Duncan, Alexis Magdaleno, Ashlee Valentino, and Jackson Whitehouse. Congratulations!

Scholarship applications for 2024 will be accepted between January 1 and April 1. To apply, or read additional information about the application process, please visit the KBMIRT website: <u>Scholarship Fund</u>.

HOLIDAY HOURS

- The KBMIRT office will be closed on the following dates:
 - o Monday, December 25, 2023
 - o Tuesday, December 26, 2023
 - o Friday, December 29, 2023
 - o Monday, January 1, 2024

BOARD MEMBERS:____

Doyle Decker, RT(R)(CT), Board Chair Sharon Whitaker, RT(R)(M),Vice Chair Ryan Hamilton, RT(R)(T) Nancy Uhls, CNMT Eric Burchfield, RT(R)(CT) Keri Leamy, RT(R)(CT) Jeffrey Fannin, RT(R)(CT) Lucas Rodriguez, LXMO

OFFICE STAFF:____

Elizabeth Morgan, B.S., RT(R), Executive Director

Mary-Anne Gillespie, RT(R)(M)(BS) Program Coordinator

KBMIRT Office – NEW LOCATION!!!
2365 Harrodsburg Rd, Suite A220
Lexington, KY 40504
Phone: 502-782-5687 Fax: 502-782-6495
Email: kbmirt@ky.gov

From all Board Members and Staff of the Kentucky Board of Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy: Happy Holidays and a Happy New Year.